Book Review – The Shadow Children Series by M Haddix

Book Review – The Shadow Children Series by M Haddix

My Book Review on 7 of My Favorite Books

Writing a book review for The Shadow Children Series by Margaret Haddix is something I have wanted to do for a long time.  I read this series of seven books last year and it is still one of my favorite stories.

The shadow children is sort of a sic-fi, futuristic adventure.  It is a little like the Hunger Games books but more for tweens and teens.  My book review gives these books and author the highest possible rating because I really loved the series.  Here is a little glimpse into the story line of the books, I promise I am not giving anything away.

Book Review Among The Hidden Luke and Jen live in a society that is ruled by an evil dictator.  Their living conditions are hard and they live in poverty. The government made a law that families are only allowed to have 2 children because they didn’t have enough food in their country. Population police patrol the country to make sure there are no 3rd children.  If they find a 3rd child they are imprisoned or murdered.   Jen and Luke set up a 3rd child rally to change their country for the better but terrible events unravel at the rally and their lives are changed forever.

I can’t tell you any more than that because I don’t want to spoil the story.  What I do want you to know is the books are all filled with adventure that keep you on the edge of your seat.  You will like Luke and Jen and their friends but you will hate the population police.  Most of all, you will love this series of books called the Shadow children by Margaret Peterson Haddix.

Book Review is Really a Books Review

This book review is really about the seven books in the series which are listed below (with our affiliate links) so you can find them easily at Amazon, your favorite bookstore, or at your school library. I loved every book in the series and each book continues the story. It is so fun to read a good series because it just keeps the story going and going. This is one series you won’t want to miss:

The boxed set would make a great Christmas gift…just sayin’: Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Complete Shadow Children Collection

Book Review


Margaret Peterson Haddix is one of my favorite authors.  You will likely find a future book review or two on other books of hers I have read. I just know you will enjoy these books as much as I did.  I hope you will continue to read her books because she is an awesome author.  Her books definitely belong in the KindredLive Book Club! Have you read the Shadow Children series or other Margaret Peterson Haddix books?  If so, what is your book review?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Email Us